State Assembly Passes Bill to Create Two Universities – The New Indian Express

Through Express news service

VIJAYAWADA: Two new universities – Andhra Kesari University in Prakasam district and Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University in Gurajada in Vizianagaram district – will soon be established in Andhra Pradesh. The State Assembly on Wednesday adopted bills relating to these two new universities.

According to Information and Public Relations (I&PR) Minister Perni Venkataramaiah, who introduced the two bills on behalf of Education Minister Audimulapu Suresh, the state government is committed to initiating a paradigm shift in the education system by improving access, equity, quality and affordability. and accountability with particular emphasis on teacher education as well as multiple fields of study to enable and encourage high quality, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary teaching, research and innovation in all fields.

The Minister observed that in accordance with the National Education Policy (NEP) -2020, which recommends that states have a multidisciplinary university in each district, the government has proposed Andhra Kesari University in Prakasam district, which n has no university so far. The university will be located in the village of Pernamitta in Santhanuthalapadu mandal with an exclusive focus on teacher training, relocating the existing PG center from Acharya Nagarjuna University.

In a statement, the government explained that as the pandemic has caused major and sudden changes in classrooms, various shortcomings have been observed in terms of preparation of online courses and its delivery to students in virtual classrooms. . To fill these gaps, the proposed university intends to establish a training center to provide competency-based professional development programs to stakeholders involved in higher education and school education through training modules. comprehensive mixed using the latest ICT infrastructure and relevant tools. The Center will become a learning environment and a capacity building center for all teachers in the state.

As Vizianagaram district also does not have a state university, the new legislation passed proposed to establish JNTU-Gurajada in the district. It will be the only state technological university in northern Andhra Pradesh.

Currently, there are 238 colleges affiliated with JNTU-Kakinada, spread across eight districts of the state. The proposed university will cover three districts – Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram and Srikakulam. As the 2021-22 academic year started from October, it became imperative to establish the university without delay and allow the university to operate from the current academic year.

Universities to be set up to fill the gaps
Andhra Kesari University intends to establish a training center to provide competency-based professional development programs to stakeholders involved in higher education through comprehensive blended training modules

Previous 10 Best Community Colleges in Tennessee
Next Ontario Public Colleges Accept Voluntary Binding Arbitration